My recovery is….zzzzzzzz

It’s been just over three weeks since I was released from the hospital and I think it’s safe to say that I’ve got cabin fever. I want to work out at home, but I’ve been so tired that even sitting on the sofa and trying to concentrate on the TV is proving to be hard work. I want to read the mountain of books that I’ve acquired, but I can feel my eyelids become heavy after reading just one line.

I think I completely underestimated the toll the Lemtrada would take on my body. I thought I’d be in hospital for a week and then back to normal at the weekend. Instead, I’ve been moping around my house and napping. I’ve become really good at napping. So much so that I can do it anywhere – in the bath, in bed, on the sofa, on the floor and even sat at the dining room table when sorting through my washing.

Before the treatment, I was hitting the gym regularly – around 5 times a week – and I was working out some aggression through MMA classes. I really miss working out, but considering I sometimes have to take a break when walking up the stairs I think my return is still a while off. I’ve been trying to do some yoga and it’s teaching me that I am as flexible as a piece of Blackpool rock. I’m really looking forward to getting back though, as I managed to lose three stone through hard work and perseverance.

This is me in March 2015 compared to September 2016

The plethora of dating apps that I’m signed up to are providing me with endless sources of entertainment, as it turns out I can still come up with responses to idiots that sting. I also started teaching myself how to play guitar again, but then I trapped my fingers in my car door. It would appear that the Lemtrada hasn’t made me any less clumsy.

I’m trying to stay positive, because even though I’m about to go Rear Window on the neighbours, if the treatment works like it should I will be able to get on with my life without fearing an MS relapse. Instead, I concentrate on important things like what food I can eat and drunken nights out with my amazing friends. I’m counting down the seconds until I can stop the pregnancy diet. I will celebrate with a block of brie.

2 comments

  1. Stephen Rigby · December 2

    Got diagnosec with RRMS whilst in hospital last xmas. Had relapses whilst on Betaferon and am about to start with Tysabri. How long can I expect to stay on it for because I am not liking what you have written about your new course of treatment.

    Like

    • Leigh Erin · December 2

      It depends how your body reacts on it. I know people who have been on it for a decade and it’s still working for them. I’m feeling fantastic right now 😁 I hope Tysabri is a good fit for you. It gave me a good couple of years while I was on it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

