You don’t know your limit until you reach it

It’s been a while since I’ve updated my blog, not due to the MS but instead I have been suffering from an incapacitating case of “I can’t be bothered” – a serious condition that consumes a person’s interest and ability to do even the most simplest of tasks.

At the beginning of March, I went on an amazing trip to New York and got to see some of the things I had only ever seen in movies before, including the Statue of Liberty (a very snow covered one), Central Park and Phantom of the Opera on Broadway. I had an incredible time, but it did take its toll on my health to some extent.

As you can imagine, there is a lot of walking to do in New York and we went out for hours at a time, sometimes trekking the streets of the Big Apple for more than ten miles a day. I bought a foldable stick before we went just in case I struggled and although I only had to use it once, my legs hated me by the end of the trip. For around two weeks after I came back, they were still achy and tender when I woke up and went to bed.

It made me realise that you don’t really know your limit until you’ve hit it head first. I didn’t know how far I would be able to walk every day and was quite worried that it would impact my holiday or, more importantly, my enjoyment of New York. I didn’t not want to let sore legs stop me and even, begrudgingly, cracked out the stick when I felt I needed to so I could carry on.

With MS – or any other chronic illness – you can’t spend your time worrying about what you might not be able to do, as you can’t see into the future and see the outcome (but if you do possess this power please give me the upcoming lottery numbers).

My trip made me realise that I am stronger than I thought I was and if I set my mind to something I can do it if I let the niggling “what if” feelings go.

Now I’m back at home, I’ve used this mindset to motivate me to be more active and get my fitness back on track. I know what I’m capable of and it’s only my own laziness that holds me back – but only if I let it.

2 comments

  1. deuce2treble3quinn4 · April 7, 2015

    I had this feeling earlier about my abilities even though I felt the same 2 months ago…it was that I didn’t know I had MS yet so I just did what I always would. Since diagnosis I’ve been busy second guessing whether or not I should do things. But why should I? If I still can then I should! I guess I’ll know the wall when I hit it but I have to find it first.

    Like

    • Leigh Erin · April 7, 2015

      I think it’s important to learn how much your body can do. I’ve been diagnosed for just over 2 years and I’m still learning.

      Like

Leave a Reply

